The Spring Court is the first tennis shoe designed for play on clay. In 1936 George Grimmeisen, a tennis lover, invented the Spring Court. The revolutionary shoe was breathable, made of cotton canvas and had a vulcanised rubber sole, recognisable by its four distinctive ventilation holes in the midsole.
The tennis show was quickly adopted by professional and amateur players. It reigned on tennis courts until the late 70s. Theodore Grimmeisen, Georges’ son, is the current president of the company.
During the excitement of the 1960’s, this iconic shoe diverted from the playing field to become a symbol of renewed urban culture. The 1960s transformed all walks of life. For the first time, sports shoes were worn off the playing field. People protested, danced and lived in Spring Court shoes. They were worn by rock stars, artists and the general population as a whole. Wearing Spring Court was a subtle way of affirming oneself, stating a refusal to conform.
Since its creation, Spring Court has sold over 25 million pairs of tennis shies. In the 90s, the fashion scene gave the iconic brand a new impetus. The Spring Court style affirms itself by revisiting urban cultures. Fashion changes, collections reflect the season, but the original style is eternal.
Located in the 11th arrondissement of Paris, the factory, built in 1870 by Theodore the cooper, has remained the company’s headquarters. Over time, the 19th century Parisian suburb has become the popular neighbourhood of Belleville. Fully renovated over the past 25 years, the factory is now a cultural epicentre for photography, videography, music and architecture. It also houses the Spring Court shop, reopened in 2003, which showcases all Spring Court models.
In 2014, the belleville factory became the Spring Court’s centre of operations again and now houses all core businesses involved in its development.